The Guardian chooses Jenni Hermoso as footballer of the year

As The Guardian reports in its newspaper, the award for ‘footballer of the year’ “is given to a player who has done something remarkable, whether by overcoming adversity, helping others or setting a sporting example by acting with exceptional honesty,” according to the parameters set out by the paper.

This year’s winner has been announced as Jenni Hermoso, winner of the Women’s World Cup with Spain.

Luis Rubiales full speech about the Hermoso kiss: “I will not resign!”Parker Johnson

After a year in which the player has been in the spotlight both on and off the pitch, the Guardian has decided that she will become the eighth winner of the award, and the fourth woman to win it. She comes after Khadija Shaw, in 2018, Megan Rapinoe, in 2019 and Virginia Torrecilla in 2022.

The publication reports what happened in the World Cup final with Rubiales, in which they point out that the Madrid player’s position “was clear and unwavering”.

How did Hermoso win the award?

As a result of these events, a movement began with the slogan “It’s over”, which caught the attention of many other women’s national teams for the same cause.

With a great career behind her, in which she holds the title of top scorer with the national team after 107 caps and 52 goals, she has a long career with different clubs. Atletico Madrid, Rayo Vallecano, Tyreso in Sweden, Barcelona, Paris Saint-Germain and now Pachuca in Mexico have been the different homes Hermoso has had during her years on the pitch.

Now, as ‘The Guardian’ reports, she has stood above all others in 2023.

“Through her stance and actions, and those of her teammates, she has become a symbol of the fight for justice, equality, fairness and a safe environment for female footballers and women in general. In general terms, she has become a beacon for women in Spain fighting against a macho culture,” the paper concluded.

“She took on a role that she would probably prefer never to have had to take on and that is why she is a more than worthy winner of the award.”

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top