Copa America winners: complete and updated list of all the teams that have won the tournament

The Copa America is the oldest international tournament in the world of soccer, which in 2024 celebrates 108 years of history with a special edition featuring more teams than ever. So, who will compete and who has won the famous, prestigious competition before?

The tournament was first played in Argentina in 1916 and was known as the South American National Team Championship and since then, 47 editions have been played, with the 48th beginning on June 20 in Miami, Florida.

Although the tournament is known as Copa America, only two editions have been played with teams from all over the Americas (North and South). Once in 2016 and again in 2024 with the USA placing fourth in the former.

For 2024, there will be six guest countries with representatives of CONCACAF competing in the form of Canada, Costa Rica, the United States, Jamaica, Mexico and Panama in another special one off edition.

But there are an ever 10 present nations that make up the South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL). They are Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela.

From them, the previous 47 champions have emerged with Argentina being the most recent victors prior to going on to win the FIFA World Cup in December 2022 as Lionel Messi got his hands on two major international trophies to secure his legacy.

How many Copa America does each team have?

Argentina and Uruguay are the teams that have won the tournament the most times, with 15 winners medals each, although the defending champions have played in 29 finals compared to 21 for the much smaller nation.

Behind comes Brazil, with nine titles and 12 lost finals, with their last victory in the competition coming in 2019 when they beat Peru 3-1 at the Estadio de Maracana in Rio de Janeiro on July 7 for their first title since 2007.

Behind them comes a group of three countries with two championships each of Paraguay, Chile and Peru, while Colombia and Bolivia have only won once. Finally, Ecuador and Venezuela have never won the tournament

Curiously, Mexico is the only team not belonging to CONMEBOL to have disputed the title, with two finals appearances in 1993 and 2002, as well as three third places: 1997, 1999 and 2007. Can they be the first CONCACAF side to go all the way in 2024?

  • Argentina: 15 titles; 14 runners-up.
  • Uruguay: 15 titles; six runners-up.
  • Brazil: Nine titles; 12 runners-up.
  • Paraguay: Two titles; six runners-up.
  • Chile: Two titles; four runners-up.
  • Peru: Two titles; one runner-up.
  • Colombia: One title; one runner-up.
  • Bolivia: One title; one runner-up.

Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top